Kindness knows no boundaries

From a young age, my parent taught me that even in the worst of times if you can help someone in need. You do.

This is what I saw last week.

For the month of February Brent Lindeque has been encouraging South Africans to put their differences aside and give one simple selfless random act of kindness. His Facebook group was filled with ideas. So I became inspired.

I wanted my act of kindness to be intentional.

One afternoon, I saw a young man no older than 16 years old at our local Spar grocery store. He was clearly a child of the street. I can’t put a finger on it but something drew me to this young man.

He was standing in front of the fruit juices counting his cents and minding his own business. I went up to him and asked him what juice he would like. He kindly looked at me and said. It’s okĀ  I got it.

So I left him. A little while later I saw him counting his cents again but, this time, in front of the milk with a small bottle of orange juice. Who doesn’t like an ice cold orange juice on a very hot day?

I went to him again and asked if I could help him pay for some needed groceries. He looked at me and smiled.

He placed some small items in my trolley and then we headed for the till. I paid for the items and asked him in return to show someone kindness today. He left and I continued to shop.

On my way to my car, I saw this young man sitting next to what I would say was a neatly dressed 80-year-old women. They were sharing his biscuits and watching the world go by. I don’t think the two of them saw colour as they sat eating biscuits that afternoon.

With all the racism and hatred that our country has seen over the last couple of month. It was beautiful to see the walls of racism and prejudices come down.

This one simple gesture of passing on the kindness is, in fact, universal.

Now it’s your turn

What act of kindness have you witnessed lately and How can you spread a little kindness this week?

Share your stories with us.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Psychic Nest says:

    That story brought tears in my eyes. so sweet! Saying thank you to the cashier at the grocery store and helping that old lady to cross the road after she’s done with the groceries are some of my favorite and daily acts of kindness. It doesn’t take effort to be kind! So just do it!

    Zaria

    Like

    1. Robyn Keet says:

      Zaria, thank you for your comment. It’s only takes one small act of kindness to see peace in this world.

      Like

Leave a Reply

